OpenCV Image Processing Project

Can I know more about the prerequisites and equipments required to take up this project?

1 Like

Hi @Abhishek_Kumar you can start with your laptop (recommended OS Ubuntu) with a working webcam. Install opencv and start with writing python program .
May I know the application you are thinking using Opencv.

At later stage this application might transfer to raspberry pi setup connected either with raspberry pi camera or USB Webcam
If you currently have raspberry pi setup and any of the above camera, you can start straight away with this setup.

2 Likes

Sir, can you explain what you mean by “application”?
Do we have to make an app for the project or are you talking about the applications of OpenCV?
Also, I wanted to know if it is possible for me to start learning OpenCV from scratch since I have no previous experience with this. I do have basic programming knowledge of c++ and python.

As for the webcam and Raspberry Pi setup, I’m sorry to inform you that I don’t have either of them currently.

2 Likes

@Abhishek_Kumar, it is not at all mandatory to have raspberry pi setup, you can directly start with your own laptop and builtin working camera.

By application I mean which project/challenge you are thinking to design and develop using OpenCV.

Yes you can start your journey for learning OpenCV from scratch, here are some links which will help you.

https://docs.opencv.org/master/d6/d00/tutorial_py_root.html

Please let us know if you have any query.

Happy Exploring!

2 Likes

@Ashish_Pardeshi Thanks a lot for the links that you provided!
The application I thought was the same as mentioned in the orientation programme i.e. Creating 3D drawing files by taking input from a series of images.

2 Likes

That too is a project. Refer to the website below. The site pulls 100s of images from published papers with references. Now imagine viewing these with google Cardboard.