S3E10 Cube chatShaala: Exploring new ways of Learning

Meeting URL


HBCSE Webinar

A front-end for HBCSE web conferencing server. You can create your own rooms to host sessions, or join others using a short and convenient link.

Please click on the HBCSE Webinar above to join the CUBE ChatShaala
Timing:5.30 pm to 9.30 pm
Webinar will be recorded and recording link will be post in the same thread after the webinar.

Looking forward to your participation.

CUBE ChatShaala: 18th Nov 2020
A Cubist depicted the story of starting her HomeLab in Thanniam, Thrissur, Kerala.
Her method of trapping fruitflies (initially) was different. A medium was prepared for the flies and then grapes were placed over that medium inside the bottle to attract flies. This was the initial setup.
We can see in the image that one bottle has been kept inverted over the other bottle. This tells us about the method of transferring fruitflies from a trap bottle to an empty bottle and then into a media bottle. A similar method is followed for preparing SLCs (single line cultures).
How do we distinguish between a male fruitfly and a female fruitfly on the basis of their morphology?
Reference for the picture: https://mol-biol4masters.masters.grkraj.org/html/Developmental_Biology1-Drosophila_files/image084.jpg
Upon asking whether there are any topics of research in fruitflies that are related with developmental biology (studies on this field bagged a Nobel Prize in 1995; one of the three being a FEMALE SCIENTIST) A Cubist shared her experience of working with flies having mutations in the HOX gene (Homeotic genes; control the formation of anatomical structures of the organism). These give rise Antennapedia and Bithorax mutations (two of the few). The homeotic genes are studied in plant models such as Arabidopsis as well.

Can mutations such as Bithorax and Antennapedia give rise to a new species? Why? Why not!!?

Shrudhiga from Palakkad, Kerala asked an interesting and inspiring question that led to three hours of rigorous discussion!
Upon hearing that the fruitflies are six-time Nobel Prize winners, she questioned that by what methodology can we study an organism (say fruitfly) so that we can get a Nobel Prize (yet another!)?
Is there any field(s) that is/are being studied using fruitflies and has/have chances of winning the Nobel Prize?
How do CUBists approach it?

This brought us to our (evolutionary­čśů) research question/objective towards fruitflies!
The comparison of olfactory (smelling) senses of the native fruitflies and the standard CsBz (lab-bred) flies.
CsBz stands for Canton special Benzer. Canton, USA is the place where scientist Seymour Benzer (physicist, molecular biologist and behavioural geneticist) had trapped fruitflies 7 to 8 decades ago. These flies were later identified as Drosophila melanogaster and are being cultured/maintained in the laboratories since then.


Using STEM to fabricate an olfactory sensor!
What is the objective behind creating an olfactory sensor for humans?
How is it beneficial to humans?

CUBE Chatshaala on 18th November 2020
63 CUBists from 54 centres joined the webinar.

Narsing HS: Hasina Begam, Krishnendu Roy
Sonari: Susanta Tanti

Sitamarhi: Anamika Singh

AND College: Sarita Kumar
DDU College: Dr Sudhir Verma

Akshay Kulkarni
Sakshi Prabhudesai
Sucheta Naik

Kanke, Ranchi: GC Baskey, Ram Deepak
Ranchi: Manjuel Jojo, Sweta Rani
Morabadi: Shalini Lal

Bangalore: Deepika Iyyangar

Muvattupuzha: Abhijith Vinod
Chavakkad, Thrissur: Aiswarya NG
Kozhikode: Arunima
Thriprayar: Aswathy Suresh
Palakkad: Dr Binumol. M, Shrudhiga
Kandassankadavu: Lakshmy
Manju V Subramanian
Aroor: Pooja Baiju
Thrissur: Rayis
Palluruthy, Kochi: Rexeena Sebastian
Thanniam, Thrissur: Sidhy PP
Thrithallur, Thrissur: Sreelakshmi VS
Alapad, Thrissur: Vishnupriya

South Bombay: Arunan MC
Ghatkopar: Anjanikumar Kashyap, Nishmitha
Thane: Anshu Kadam, Prashant Palane
Goregaon: Deepak Sharma
Nerul: DK
Worli: Isha Pawle
Asangaon: Lokesh Tiwari
Powai: Lydia Mathew
Bhandup: Mamta Verma
Wilson College: Nilang, Radhika Mhatre
Dahanu Road, Palghar: Sachin Pradhan
Bandra: Saida Sayyed
Kalyan: Shubham Isame
Panvel: Shraddha Sonavane
Prabhadevi: Yash Sheregare

Erode: Dr. C. Chitra Vadivu

Hyderabad: Binita Ghosh

Moradabad: Kiran Yadav

GHS, Kalyani: Aranyak Sarma
Kolkata: Batul Pipewala
Asansol: Oyindril Dutta

Aishwarya Elizabeth
Deepthy Maria
Devika Devanath
Florence Selvaraj
Nikitha TN
Sankara Narayanan Menon
Shaikh Zeba
Sifuvan KN
Yami George
Zaveria Shaikh