The Fruitfly Diary (At my CUBE HomeLab Bandra, Mumbai)

So today is 8th October 2022 and exactly one year ago on same date (i.e 8th October 2021) I started culturing fruit fly… Back then I didn’t knew about metastudio and when I came to know about it I wanted to post my work so I tried summarizing but unfortunately i’m not good at summarizing a huge data all together so I started this thread and i will post little everyday and we would go in details… You know the devil is in details! so let’s begin

Today i trapped fruit flies from dustbin area near my home
Common Name - Fruit Fly
Scientific Name- Drosophila melanogaster
Date :- 8th October 2021
Location - Mount Mary, Bandra (W), Mumbai
Name of collector - Smiti Gupta

Reference

Since it’s my first time culturing species. You must be thinking why only fruit flies right…? . Well because…

1. Drosophila is easily available in large number around rotting fruits
  2. It has a short life span of approx. 50 days
    These pest are not harmful on their own, but can be indicative of sanitary household condition i.e unclean enough to endanger health
  3. Last but not least, it’s a model organism in field of genetics as 75% of the genes that cause disease in humans are also found in fruit flies and I’m kinda interested in branch of genetics so…

I placed this bait at 3 pm and the mission was complete by 4:30pm on 8th October, it was quite quick to trap approximately 80 flies within 1 and a half hour, because I placed small pieces of over ripped and sweet custard apple around the lid area. It was placed around dustbin which contained some rotten food stuffs and the bottle contains 2 banana, half boiled potato and some vinegar. I also placed some strips of butter paper for them to lay eggs

That’s the place where bait was kept and it was placed open. After the collection I closed it using a lid which had multiple, tiny holes on it

Here is a short video of that container, made just after trapping the fly